Alaska Region celebrates 2023 Regional Forester’s Awards

Juneau, Alaska (KINY) – In an annual tradition, the USDA Forest Service Alaska Region celebrated employees and their remarkable contributions and dedication to ‘caring for the land and serving people.’

The yearly Regional Forester’s Awards names individuals and teams throughout the Alaska Region in recognition of exceptional service to the public, excellent teamwork achieved both internally and externally, and the dedication and tenacity of employees and partners.

“The accomplishments of these awardees are shining examples of our values and commitments in action,” said Acting Regional Forester Janelle Crocker. “From the ingenuity and diversity of our employees to the collaboration with communities, Tribes, and partners, people are the heart of what we do in the Alaska Region and the driving force behind progress as we work to steward the land for future generations.”

The 2023 Regional Forester’s Awardees are:

  • Employee of the Year Award to Kim Homan, Regional Geospatial Program Manager
  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award to Joshua Orem, Special Uses Program Administrator, Tongass
  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Group Award to Alaska Region New Employee Orientation Committee: Jennifer Angelo, Julie Beall, Griffith Berg, Jacqueline Chandler, Theodora Castillo, Bridget Darr, Douglas Hoffmaster, Paul Robbins Jr, Michael Shephard, Nancy Soriano
  • Conservation Award to Bonnie Bennetsen, Forest Wildlife Program Manager, Tongass
  • Conservation Group Award to Chugach National Forest GIS Team: Brandon Boxler, Caine Daugherty, Amanda Kruse, Arturo Moreno, Cooper Ress.
  • Partnership and Public Engagement Award to Erin Cooper, Prince William Sound Zone Terrestrial Program Manager, Chugach
  • Safe Work Environment Award to Terry Fiske, Forester, Tongass
  • Safe Work Environment Group Award to Seward Ranger District Developed Recreation Crew, Chugach: Amy Farris, Ludmilla Hedrick, Sophie Marin, Alex McLain
  • Innovation Award to Jacob Hofman, Cartographer, Regional Office
  • Innovation Group Award to ANILCA Blitz Team: Sergio Abila, Julie Beall, Amanda Blankenship, Erin Cooper, Kathy Holm, Nathen Illidge, Melissa Kulack, Max Martinez, Jason Steele, Hillary Woods
  • Customer Service Award to Jacob Musslewhite, Fishery Biologist, Tongass
  • Customer Service Group Award to Mendenhall Glacier Visitor Center Summer Staff, Tongass: Sally Hertz, Timothy Hicks, Joshua Love, Matthew Puma, Katie Severson, Samantha Strand, Megan Whitesall
  • Customer Service Group Award to Mendenhall Glacier Visitor Center Leadership Team, Tongass: Steven Behrns, Laura Buchheit, Trevor Diloreto, Isabel Dziak, Angela Gantuah, Megan McMillan, Jessica Schalkowski, Julia Spofford, Lynn Wilbur
  • Interdependence Award to Robin Mulvey, Plant Pathologist, State, Private & Tribal Forestry
  • Interdependence Group Award to Glacier Ranger District Administrative Site Acquisition Team, Chugach: Tim Charnon, Dawn Collinsworth, Hannah Cross, Brent Doutt, Allison Gillum, Harvey Hergett, Shawn Nelson, Matt Reece, Jeff Schramm, James Witt