Governor’s annual Emergency Medical Service Awards Ceremony announced

Anchorage, Alaska (KINY) – The Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services (ACEMS) will be presenting the Governor’s Annual Emergency Medical Service (EMS) Awards on Friday, Nov. 17, at noon in the Captain Cook Hotel in Anchorage, during the Southern EMS Region Symposium.

Department of Health Commissioner, Heidi Hedberg and Governor Mike Dunleavy’s Deputy Chief of Staff, Rachel Bylsma, will present this year’s awards.

The Governor’s Annual EMS Awards are the highest level of award in the state of Alaska for EMS. There will be six awards presented including:

  • Consumer/Citizen Award to a person who, not in the regular line of duty, performs lifesaving, limb-saving, or medical techniques in a medical emergency. Shows quick thinking, common sense, and initiative to save a life or reduce injury.
  • EMS Provider Award to a medically trained person who performs meritorious service above and beyond expectations of the job.
  • EMS Administrator Award to any person who successfully develops a new approach, technique, device, etc., to improve EMS in Alaska, and/or for an outstanding administrator in an EMS agency or service.
  • Longenbaugh Memorial Award to a physician who exemplifies leadership and dedication to EMS systems and, through his or her efforts, has significantly promoted the Alaska EMS system.
  • EMS Educator of the Year to a State certified ETT or EMT Instructor, who is dedicated to quality instruction and promoting the best in prehospital care or has made an outstanding contribution to EMS education.
  • Outstanding Ambulance Service Award to an ambulance service that exemplifies in some way the outstanding service that all our ambulance organizations and rescue squads provide to Alaska.
  • Special Awards and Commendations